Google+ Followers

quarta-feira, 1 de junho de 2016

The Georgian Museum of Arts. --- Museu da Geórgia de Artes.

The treasury at the Georgian Museum of Arts was founded in the second half of the 19th century, and developed further in the early 20th century, creating a centerpiece for the Georgian National Treasury. The majority of the materials presented in its exhibitions are the works of Georgian Masters. The treasury preserves and presents works from the Bronze Age, Antic-Hellenistic, and medieval periods, as well as significant modern artifacts up through the 20thcentury.

Gold and silver temple rings dating from the 3rd century BCE were found in Sachkhere barrows, and artifacts from Antic-Hellenistic burial mounds were found in the regions of Kazbegi, Akhalgori, Sachkhere, Sairkhe, Uplistsikhe, Modinakhe, Rgani, Chkhari, and Sargveshi. The proliferation of these objects demonstrates proof of early Georgian mastery in metalwork, as well as its close cultural ties with the rest of the ancient world.

Metal sculptures from the medieval period are gathered from various monasteries and churches. Icons, chalices, altars, procession, breast crosses, and other collections presented in the Museum of Art enable visitors to look though the development process of Georgian goldsmiths from the 5th to 20th centuries.

The Georgian Museum of Art hosts one of the richest and most unique collections of golden vitreous enamel, reserved in the precious metal collection.

More than two hundred artifacts are presented in the exhibition; half of these are reserved at Khakhuli triptych.

Distinguished 5th century works in ivory, as well as breast triptychs from Okoni and Nikortsminda hold a distinctive place in the collection.


The National Gallery was established in 1920, and quickly became a center for Georgian arts and culture.

The Gallery was reorganized in 1932, and the Fine Art Museum was founded on its basis. It exhibited collections from the Historical-Ethnographic Society, Society for the Spread of Literacy, and Tbilisi State University's ancient Georgian art.

In 1933, Metekhi temple on Rustaveli Avenue allocated territory for the museum. As a result, the museum was known as The "Metekhi" Museum of Fine Arts during this period. The first director of the museum was Dimitri Shevardnadze.

Through the efforts of Ekvtime Takaishvili, the National Treasury-which had been exported to France for safekeeping by the exiled Menshevik government in 1921-was returned to Georgia and transferred to the Museum of Fine Arts in 1945.

The former Theological Seminary building, built in 1838 in the Russian imperial style, was also transferred to the possession of the museum (then known as the State Museum of Fine Arts) in 1950.

The following development of the museum is to the credit of its director, the academic Shalva Amiranashvili.

In 2004, the Shalva Amiranashvili Museum of Fine Arts was incorporated into the Georgian National Museum complex. Georgian chased and painted icons, vitreous enamel, jewelry, textiles, and unique works of embroidery are presented in the treasury of the museum. Old Georgian wall paintings and masterpieces of Georgian, Russian, European, and Eastern countries attract visitors today.

Nenhum comentário:

Postar um comentário